BlueDBM: A Muti-access, Distributed Flash Store for Big Data Analytics



Speaker: Arvind

Johnson Professor, Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Abstract:Complex analytics of the vast amount of data collected via social media, cell phones, ubiquitous smart sensors, and satellites is likely to be the biggest economic driver for the IT industry over the next decade. For many ``Big Data'' applications, the limiting factor in performance is often the transportation of large amount of data from hard disks to where it can be processed, i.e. DRAM. We will present BlueDBM, an architecture for a scalable distributed flash store which is designed to overcome this limitation in two ways. First, the architecture provides a high-performance, high-capacity, scalable random-access storage. It achieves high-throughput by sharing large numbers of flash chips across a low-latency, chip-to-chip backplane network managed by the flash controllers. Second, it permits some computation near the data via a FPGA-based programmable flash controller. We will present the preliminary results on accelerating complex queries using BlueDBM consisting of 20 nodes and up to 32 TB of flash.

Biography:Arvind is the Johnson Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a member of CSAIL (Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory). From 1974 to 1978, prior to coming to MIT, he taught at the University of California, Irvine. Arvind received his M.S. and Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Minnesota in 1972 and 1973, respectively. He received his B. Tech. in Electrical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, in 1969, and also taught there from 1977-78.

Arvind's current research interests are synthesis and verification of large digital systems described using Guarded Atomic Actions; and Memory Models and Cache Coherence Protocols for parallel architectures and languages.

In the past, Arvind's research interests have included all aspects of parallel computing and declarative programming languages. He has contributed to the development of dynamic dataflow architectures, the implicitly parallel programming languages Id and pH, and the compilation of these types of languages on parallel machines. Dr. R. S. Nikhil and Arvind published the book "Implicit parallel programming in pH" in 2001.

In 1992, Arvind's group, in collaboration with Motorola, completed the Monsoon dataflow machine and its associated software. A dozen of these machines were built and installed at Los Alamos National Labs and other universities, before Monsoon was retired to the Computer Museum in California.

In 2000, Arvind took a two-year leave of absence to start Sandburst, a fabless semiconductor company to produce a chip set for 10G-bit Ethernet routers. He served as its President until his return to MIT in September 2002. Sandburst was acquired by Broadcom in 2006. In 2003, Arvind co-founded Bluespec Inc, an EDA company to produce a set of tools for high-level synthesis, and serves on its board.

Arvind has served on the editorial board of many journals including the Journal of Parallel and Distributed Computing, and the Journal of Functional Programming. He has chaired and served on the program committee of many meetings sponsored by ACM and IEEE. From 1986-92, he was the Chief Technical Advisor for the UN sponsored Knowledge Based Computer Systems project in India. During 1992-93 Arvind was the Fujitsu Visiting Professor at the University of Tokyo. Arvind managed the Nokia-CSAIL research collaboration from 2006-2010. Since 2009, Arvind is also WCU (World Class University) Distinguished Professor at the Seoul National University.

Arvind has delivered more than hundred keynote and distinguished lectures.


American Association of Arts and Sciences, Member (2012)

IEEE Computer Society Harry Goode Memorial Award (2012)

Outstanding Achievement Award, University of Minnesota (2008)

National Academy of Engineering, Member (2008)

ACM – Fellow (2007)

Distinguished Alumnus Award, University of Minnesota (2001)

Distinguished Alumnus Award, I.I.T. Kanpur (1999)

IEEE Charles Babbage Outstanding Scientist Award (1994).

IEEE – Fellow (1994)