The history of the School of Electronics Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) at Peking University can be traced back to the mid-to-late 1950s. For over 60 years, its construction and development have been closely related to China's scientific and technological development strategy. In 1958, the Department of Radio Electronics, subsequently renamed the Department of Electronics in 1996, was established, based on the two majors of Radio Physics and Electronic Physics affiliated to the Department of Physics. In 1978, the Department of Computer Science and Technology was established based on the former Computational Mathematics major in the Department of Mathematics and Mechanics, the Computer major in the Department of Radio Electronics, and the Semiconductor Physics major in the Department of Physics. In 1985, Information Science Center and the Institute of Microelectronics were established.

In September 2002, the School of EECS was established at Peking University based on the former Department of Electronics, Department of Computer Science and Technology, Institute of Microelectronics, and Center for Information Science. The school has four teaching units, those being the Department of Electronics, the Department of Computer Science and Technology, the Department of Micro-Nano Electronics, and the Department of Intelligent Science. It also has more than ten research institutes dedicated to discipline construction and graduate student education, and other supporting units such as the Institute of Basic Experimental Teaching and Learning and the Institute of Innovation Research.

In 2021, in order to actively respond to a new round of technological revolution and industrial transformation, and to proactively lay out the strategic fields that will be crucial for future talent cultivation, Peking University proposed a new engineering discipline construction plan. Based on the relevant departments, institutes, and centers within the School of EECS, the university established four disciplinary schools: the School of Electronics, the School of Computer Science, the School of Integrated Circuits, and the School of Intelligent Science and technology. In addition, the School of EECS was adjusted to become an undergraduate school, exploring and leading the reform and practice of talent cultivation in the field of information during this new era. The goal is to create a "World-class, Chinese characteristics, and PKU-styled" new engineering innovation highland for the cultivation of high-level talents.

The School of EECS and the four disciplinary schools currently have 8 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, 5 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering (including double employed academician), 14 distinguished professors of the Chang Jiang Scholars Program, 2 special post professors, 5 young scholars, 26 winners of National Science Foundation for Distinguished Young Scholars of China, 19 winners of National Natural Science Foundation for Outstanding Young Scientists, 5 candidates for the National High Level Talent Special Support Program (Ten Thousand Talents Program) for leading scientific and technological innovation talents, 8 candidates for the Youth Top Talent Support Program, 6 national level candidates for the "Ten Million Talents Project", and 5 winners of the Beijing Higher Education Teaching Master Award/Youth Teaching Master Award.

The School of EECS has 5 majors that have been selected for the Construction of National First-class Undergraduate Majors, namely Electronic Information Science and Technology, Computer Science and Technology, Microelectronics Science and Engineering, Intelligent Science and Technology, and Software Engineering. The School of EECS and the four disciplinary schools have established 5 primary disciplines: Electronics Science and Technology, Computer Science and Technology, Information and Communication Engineering, Software Engineering, and Integrated Circuit Science and Engineering. Three of these disciplines, Electronics Science and Technology, Computer Science and Technology, and Software Engineering, were selected in the first batch of "double first-class disciplines". In the fourth round of national higher education discipline evaluations, Computer Science and Technology was rated “A+” level, and Electronics Science and Technology and Software Engineering were rated “A” level. The school have 2 national-level key laboratories, 1 national engineering laboratory, 12 provincial/ministerial-level key laboratories/engineering research centers, and one national/provincial-level experimental teaching demonstration center each. Moreover, the school have undertaken the development of the Weiming Scholars Program 2.0 for top-notch computer science students and the National Integrated Circuit Industry-University Cooperation Innovation Platform.

The School of EECS adheres to the concept of "strengthening fundamentals, promoting interdisciplinary studies, respecting choices, and excellence in teaching". With the advantages of a comprehensive range of majors and interdisciplinary integration, the school has established a training system that connects undergraduate and graduate education and emphasizes both a solid knowledge foundation and innovative ability. The school focuses on the forefront of global information technology and national strategic needs, accelerates the enhancement of independent talent cultivation ability, and aims to cultivate high-level information technology talents with strong professional foundation, outstanding innovation ability, firm will, and broad vision, contributing to the construction of a world-leading science and technology country.